The O’side Turkey Trot would not be possible without our sponsors. Thank you for supporting their businesses.

Champions and record setters of the 2011 Pacific Marine Credit Union O'side Turkey Trot include 5K winners David Edwards and Madeline Kramer (top row), and 5 Mile champions Claire Rethmeiermen and Okwaro Raura (bottom row). All set course records in their events.

Results from previous years

OCEANSIDE, Nov. 25, 2010 - Thanksgiving Day dawned cold, but things didn't take long to warm up at the Pacific Marine Credit Union O'side Turkey Trot.

Carlsbad's Joey Bonfiglio raced to a victory in the opening race of the day - the inaugural 5 Mile - in 29 minutes flat. Then, she jogged to the start line and won again in the Open 5K to highlight a day on which a record number of participants took the advice of one of the charitable organizations benefitting from the race to "Move Your Feet Before You Eat!"

For Bonfiglio it marked a successful defense of her 5K crown and, because the 5 Mile was being run for the first time, gave her another course record here. it also suggested she is in great form as she heads to the Las Vegas Marathon in December in hopes of qualifying for the 2012 U.S. Women's Olympic Trials.

Jessica Sandoval went from a third-place finish in 2009 to victory in 2010.

The other big story was the number of participants. Entries in the increasingly popular Oceanside race jumped by a whopping 40 percent - fueled in part by the addition of the longer 5 mile race. A total of more than 6,200 runners and walkers participated in a series of races that began in the chill of a crisp morning and melted into a perfect sunny morning.

The record number of runners meant that the 5-year old race helped raise its largest amount of money ever for local schools and charities. Since 2006, the race has raised more than $63,000 for Oceanside-area schools.

The morning's ideal running conditions set the stage for a number of scintillating performances. Joining Bonfiglio as the first champion in the 5 Mile was Sergio Gonzalez in 25:48. He edged Fernando Blanco of Vista, with 41-year-old Dave Larson of Temecula coming home as the first wheelchair racer in 27:17.

In the Open 5K, Bonfiglio won in 17:49, well off her course record of 17:07, but understandable given her back-to-back racing effort. She was joined as the champion by Kari Karlsson of Vista, who won the men's title in 14:53, edging Gonzalez, who also did the 5 Mile-5K Open double, by three seconds.

And, in the Locals 5K for Oceanside residents, Okwaru Raura won in 15:46. In the women's race, Jessica Sandoval started off fast, then held off Terra Sarnacki to win by a second in 18:02.

Results from previous years are below photo on this page.

2010 recap: Bonfiglio defends title and adds a second
as O'side Turkey Trot draws record crowd

Joey Bonfiglio races to a victory in the 2010 OTT 5 Miler. She later added a second win in the 5K.

Collin Jarvis (far left in front row) will win the 2012 5K title.

Jarvis, Rethmeier capture 2012 5K titles;
Rauru, Jones win 5 Mile titles on record day

Hit Control F (Command F on a Mac) when on page to search results. For result questions, email us by clicking here)

2011 Results